This is a preview of the electronic process for the Federal Direct PLUS Master Promissory Note (MPN).
This document is intended for preview purposes only and cannot be submitted for processing.


OMB No. 1845-0068
Form Approved
Exp. Date 04/30/2019

Master Promissory Note
Direct PLUS Loans
William D. Ford Federal Direct Loan Program



WARNING: Any person who knowingly makes a false statement or misrepresentation on this form or any accompanying document is subject to penalties that may include fines, imprisonment, or both, under the U.S. Criminal Code and 20 U.S.C. 1097.

BEFORE YOU BEGIN


Before you begin, read the Instructions on page 14 of this Master Promissory Note.

BORROWER INFORMATION


1. I am a (check one):



2. Name and Permanent Address (see Instructions)


3. Social Security Number

4. Date of Birth (mm-dd-yyyy)

5. Driver's License State and Number

6. Email Address (optional)

7. Area Code/Telephone Number

8. Citizenship Status (to be completed by parent borrowers only -- check one)
(1)

(2)

If (2), Alien Registration Number

9. Employer's Name and Address


10. Work Area Code/Telephone Number

REFERENCE INFORMATION


List two persons with different U.S. addresses who do not live with you and who have known you for at least three years. If you are a parent borrower, do not list the student.

11.
First Name: Middle Initial: Last Name:

Permanent Address(Street, City, State, Zip Code):


Email Address (optional):

Area Code/Telephone Number: () -

Relationship to You:

12.
First Name: Middle Initial: Last Name:

Permanent Address(Street, City, State, Zip Code):


Email Address (optional):

Area Code/Telephone Number: () -

Relationship to You:

SCHOOL INFORMATION - TO BE COMPLETED BY THE SCHOOL


13. School Name and Address

14. School Code/Branch

15. Identification No.

DEPENDENT UNDERGRADUATE STUDENT INFORMATION - TO BE COMPLETED ONLY IF YOU ARE A PARENT BORROWER


16. Dependent Undergraduate Student's Name (first, middle initial, last)

17. Social Security Number

18. Date of Birth (mm-dd-yyyy)

Borrower's Name: Social Security Number:  -  - 

BORROWER REQUEST, CERTIFICATIONS, AUTHORIZATIONS, AND UNDERSTANDINGS


19. This is a Master Promissory Note (MPN) for one or more Federal Direct PLUS (Direct PLUS) Loans. I request a Direct PLUS Loan under this MPN in an amount not to exceed my or (if I am a parent borrower) the student's annual cost of attendance, minus other financial aid received for each academic year. For each loan, the school will notify me of the loan amount that I am eligible to borrow. Within certain timeframes, I may cancel a loan or request a lower amount by contacting the school, or by refusing to accept or returning all or a portion of a loan disbursement that is made to me. The Borrower's Rights and Responsibilities Statement that accompanies this MPN and the disclosure statements that will be provided to me contain additional information about my right to cancel a loan or request a lower amount. If I have an adverse credit history and obtain an endorser so that I may receive a Direct PLUS Loan, only one loan may be made to me under this MPN.

20. Under penalty of perjury, I certify that:

A. The information I have provided on this MPN and as updated by me from time to time is true, complete, and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief and is provided in good faith.

B. I am (1) a graduate or professional student, (2) the biological or adoptive parent of the student identified in Section C, or (3) the spouse of the student's parent and I am considered to be a parent in accordance with the instructions on the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) for purposes of reporting my income and assets on the FAFSA.

C. I will use the money I receive from any loans made under this MPN only to pay for my authorized educational expenses for attendance at the school that determined I was eligible to receive the loan or, if I am a parent borrower, the student's authorized educational expenses for attendance at that school. I will immediately repay any loan money that cannot be attributed to educational expenses for attendance on at least a half-time basis at that school.

D. If I owe an overpayment on a Federal Perkins Loan, Federal Pell Grant, Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant (FSEOG), Academic Competitiveness Grant (ACG), National Science or Mathematics Access to Retain Talent (SMART) Grant, or Leveraging Educational Assistance Partnership Grant, I have made satisfactory arrangements to repay the amount owed.

E. If I am in default on any loan I received under the Federal Perkins Loan Program (including National Direct Student Loans), the William D. Ford Federal Direct Loan (Direct Loan) Program, or the Federal Family Education Loan (FFEL) Program, I have made satisfactory repayment arrangements with the loan holder to repay the amount owed.

F. If I have been convicted of, or if I have pled nolo contendere (no contest) or guilty to, a crime involving fraud in obtaining funds under a program authorized under Title IV of the Higher Education Act of 1965, as amended (HEA), I have fully repaid the funds to the U.S. Department of Education (ED) or to the loan holder in the case of a Title IV federal student loan. If I am a parent applying for a Direct PLUS Loan for a dependent undergraduate student, and if that student has been convicted of, or has pled nolo contendere or guilty to, a crime involving fraud in obtaining funds under a program authorized under Title IV of the HEA, the student has fully repaid the funds to ED, or to the loan holder in the case of a Title IV federal student loan. The Title IV, HEA programs include the Federal Pell Grant, FSEOG, ACG, SMART Grant, Leveraging Educational Assistance Partnership Grant, Teacher Education Assistance for College and Higher Education (TEACH) Grant, Federal Work-Study (FWS), Federal Perkins Loan, Direct Loan, and FFEL programs.

21. For each Direct PLUS Loan I receive under this MPN:

A. I authorize the school to certify my eligibility for the loan.

B. I authorize the school to credit my loan money to my account at the school (if I am a graduate or professional student borrower) or to the student's account at the school (if I am a parent borrower), and to pay to ED any refund that may be due up to the full amount of the loan.

C. I authorize ED and its agents and contractors to investigate my credit record and report information about my loan status to persons and organizations permitted by law to receive that information.

D. I authorize ED to defer repayment of principal on my loan if I enroll at least half-time at an eligible school and, if I am a graduate or professional student, for the 6-month period after I cease to be enrolled at least half-time, unless I notify ED differently.

E. I authorize the schools, ED, and their agents and contractors to release information about my loan to the references I provide and to my immediate family members, unless I submit written directions otherwise.

F. I authorize the schools, ED, and their agents and contractors to share information about my loan with each other.

G. I authorize the schools, ED, and their agents and contractors to contact me regarding my loan request or my loan, including repayment of my loan, at any cellular telephone number I provide now or in the future using automated dialing equipment or artificial or prerecorded voice or text messages.

22. I understand that:

A. ED will give me the opportunity to pay the interest that accrues on each loan made under this MPN during deferment (including in-school deferment), forbearance, and other periods as provided under the Act. If I do not pay the interest that accrues during these periods, ED may add unpaid interest that accrues on each loan made under this MPN to the principal balance of that loan (this is called "capitalization") at the end of the deferment, forbearance, or other period. Capitalization will increase the principal balance on my loan and the total amount of interest I must pay.

B. ED has the authority to verify information reported on this MPN with other federal agencies.

PROMISE TO PAY


23. I promise to pay to ED all loan amounts disbursed under the terms of this MPN, plus interest and other charges and fees that may become due as provided in this MPN. I understand that more than one loan may be made to me under this MPN. I understand that by accepting any disbursement issued at any time under this MPN, I agree to repay the loan associated with that disbursement.

24. If I do not make a payment on a loan made under this MPN when it is due, I will also pay reasonable collection costs, including but not limited to attorney fees, court costs, and other fees.

25. I will not sign this MPN before reading the entire MPN, even if I am told not to read it, or told that I am not required to read it. I am entitled to an exact copy of this MPN and the Borrower's Rights and Responsibilities Statement.

26. My signature certifies that I have read, understand, and agree to the terms and conditions of this MPN, including the Borrower Request, Certifications, Authorizations, and Understandings, the MPN Terms and Conditions, the Notice About Subsequent Loans Made Under this MPN, and the Borrower's Rights and Responsibilities Statement.

I UNDERSTAND THAT I MAY RECEIVE ONE OR MORE LOANS UNDER THIS MPN, AND THAT I MUST REPAY ALL LOANS THAT I RECEIVE UNDER THIS MPN.

27. Borrower's Signature

28. Today's Date (mm-dd-yyyy)   -  -    

MPN TERMS AND CONITIONS


GOVERNING LAW

The terms of this Master Promissory Note (MPN) will be interpreted in accordance with the HEA (20 U.S.C. 1070 et seq.), ED's regulations, any amendments to the HEA and the regulations in accordance with the effective date of those amendments, and other applicable federal laws and regulations. Throughout this MPN, we refer to these laws and regulations collectively as the "Act".

Under applicable state law, except as preempted by federal law, you may have certain borrower rights, remedies, and defenses in addition to those stated in this MPN and the Borrower's Rights and Responsibilities Statement.

DISCLOSURE OF LOAN TERMS

This MPN applies to Direct PLUS Loans. Under this MPN, the principal amount that you owe, and are required to repay, will be the sum of all disbursements that are made (unless you reduce or cancel any disbursements as explained below under Loan Cancellation), plus any unpaid interest that is capitalized and added to the principal balance.

Each loan made under this MPN is separately enforceable based on a true and exact copy of this MPN.

At or before the time of the first disbursement of each loan, you will receive a disclosure statement identifying the amount of the loan and additional terms of the loan. The Borrower's Rights and Responsibilities Statement accompanying this MPN contains important additional information. The Borrower's Rights and Responsibilities Statement and any disclosure statement you receive in connection with any loan under this MPN are hereby incorporated into this MPN.

You may request additional loan funds to pay for your or the student's educational costs by contacting the school's financial aid office. The school will determine if you are eligible for any additional loan funds. You will be notified of any increase or other change in the amount of your loan.

We may use a servicer to handle billing and other communications related to your loan.

LOAN CANCELLATION

You may pay back all or part of a loan disbursement within the timeframes set by the Act, as explained in the Borrower's Rights and Responsibilities Statement and in a disclosure statement that you will receive. If you return the full loan amount within those timeframes, you will not have to pay any loan fee or interest charges. If you return part of a disbursement within those timeframes, ED will reduce the loan fee and interest charges in proportion to the amount returned.

INTEREST

Unless we notify you in writing that a different rate will apply, the interest rate for any loan you receive under this MPN is a fixed rate that is calculated in accordance with a formula specified in the Act. The interest rate for Direct PLUS Loans is calculated each year. When the rate is calculated, it applies to Direct PLUS Loans for which the first disbursement is made during the period beginning on July 1 of one year and ending on June 30 of the following year. Different interest rates may apply to different loans you receive under this MPN, depending on when the loan is first disbursed. The maximum interest rate for Direct PLUS Loans is 10.5%. We will notify you of the interest rate on each of your loans.

If you are in the military and the interest rate on your loan is greater than 6%, you may qualify to have the rate limited to 6% during your period of service. In addition, under the no accrual of interest benefit for active duty service members, you are not required to pay the interest that accrues on any type of Direct Loan Program loan first disbursed on or after October 1, 2008 during periods of qualifying active duty military service (for up to 60 months).

Interest accrues on the unpaid principal balance of each loan from the date of disbursement until the loan is paid in full, including during deferment, forbearance, or other periods. Except during certain periods of repayment under the Revised Pay As You Earn Repayment Plan (REPAYE Plan), you agree to pay all interest charges on your loan. (The REPAYE Plan is not available to parent borrowers.) You will be given the opportunity to pay the interest that accrues during a period of authorized deferment or forbearance. If you do not pay this interest, we may capitalize the interest (add it to the principal balance of your loans) at the end of the deferment or forbearance.

LOAN FEE

As provided by the Act, we charge a loan fee for each Direct PLUS Loan you receive under this MPN. The loan fee is a percentage of the loan amount and will be deducted proportionately from each disbursement of each of your loans. The specific loan fee that you are charged will be shown on disclosure statements that will be sent to you. We may refund the loan fee only as permitted by the Act.

LATE CHARGES AND COLLECTION COSTS

We may collect from you:

  • A late charge of not more than six cents for each dollar of each late payment if you do not make any part of a required installment payment within 30 days after it becomes due, and
  • Any other charges and fees that are permitted by the Act related to the collection of your loans.

If you default on your loans, you must pay reasonable collection costs, plus court costs and attorney fees.

REPAYMENT

You must repay the full amount of the loans made under this MPN, plus accrued interest. You will repay each loan in monthly installments during a repayment period that begins on the day of the final disbursement of that loan. Generally, payments that you make or that someone else makes on your behalf will be applied first to late charges and collection costs that are due, then to interest that has not been paid, and finally to the principal amount of the loan. However, any payments made under the REPAYE Plan, the Pay As You Earn Repayment Plan (PAYE Plan), and the Income-Based Repayment Plan (IBR Plan) will be applied first to interest that is due, then to fees that are due, and then to the principal amount. The REPAYE, PAYE, and IBR plans are not available to parent borrowers.

You have a choice of repayment plans. The Borrower’s Rights and Responsibilities Statement includes information on these repayment plans. You must select a repayment plan. If you do not select a repayment plan, we will choose a plan for you in accordance with the Act.

Once you choose a repayment plan, we will provide you with a repayment schedule that identifies your payment amounts and due dates. If you intend to repay your loan but are unable to make your scheduled loan payments, we may grant you a forbearance that allows you to temporarily stop making payments or to temporarily make a smaller payment amount, which extends the time for making payments.

We may adjust payment dates on your loans or may grant you a forbearance to eliminate a delinquency that remains even though you are making scheduled installment payments.

You may prepay all or any part of the unpaid balance on your loans at any time without penalty. We will determine how to apply the prepayment in accordance with the Act.

After you have repaid in full a loan made under this MPN, we will send you a notice telling you that you have paid off your loan.

ACCELERATION AND DEFAULT

At our option, the entire unpaid balance of a loan made under this MPN will become immediately due and payable (this is called "acceleration") if any one of the following events occurs:

(1) You (or the student) do not begin attendance in any classes at the school that determined you were eligible to receive the loan;
(2) You do not use the loan money solely for your or the student's educational expenses;
(3) You make a false representation that results in your receiving a loan for which you are not eligible; or
(4) You default on the loan.

You will be considered in default on your loan if:

(1) The full unpaid balance of the loan becomes immediately due and payable because event (1), (2), or (3) above occurs, and you do not pay the amount due;
(2) You do not make installment payments when due, and your failure to make payments has continued for at least 270 days; or
(3) You do not comply with other terms of the loan, and we reasonably conclude that you no longer intend to honor your repayment obligation

If you default, we may capitalize all outstanding interest. This will increase the principal balance of your loan, and the full amount of the loan, including the new principal balance and collection costs, will become immediately due and payable.

If you default, the default will be reported to nationwide consumer reporting agencies (credit bureaus) and will significantly and adversely affect your credit history. A default will have additional adverse consequences as explained in the Borrower's Rights and Responsibilities Statement. Following default, you may be required to repay the loan (potentially including amounts in excess of the principal and interest) under the IBR Plan, the PAYE Plan, the REPAYE Plan, or the Income-Contingent Repayment Plan (ICR Plan) in accordance with the Act.

LEGAL NOTICES

Any notice required to be given to you will be effective if it is sent by first class mail to the most recent address that we have for you, by electronic means to an email address you have provided, or by any other method of notification that is permitted or required by applicable law and regulation. You must immediately notify us of a change in your contact information or status as specified in the Borrower's Rights and Responsibilities Statement under "Information you must report to us after you receive your loan."

If we do not enforce or insist on compliance with any term of this MPN, it does not waive any of our rights. No provision of this MPN may be modified or waived, unless we do so in writing. If any provision of this MPN is determined to be unenforceable, the remaining provisions will remain in force.

Information about your loans will be submitted to the National Student Loan Data System (NSLDS). Information in NSLDS is accessible to schools, lenders, and guarantors for specific purposes that we authorize.


NOTICE ABOUT SUBSEQUENT LOANS MADE UNDER THIS MPN

This MPN authorizes us to make multiple loans to you to pay your educational expenses or, if you are a parent borrower, the educational expenses of the student identified in the Dependent Undergraduate Student Information section during the multi-year term of this MPN, upon your request and upon the school's annual certification of your loan eligibility. If you have an adverse credit history and obtain an endorser to receive a Direct PLUS Loan, only one loan may be made under this MPN.

At schools that are authorized to use the multi-year feature of the MPN and choose to do so, subsequent loans may be made under this MPN for subsequent academic years. At any school, subsequent loans may be made under this MPN for the same academic year.

No subsequent loans will be made under this MPN after the earliest of the following dates:

(1) The date we or the school receive your written notice that no further loans may be made;
(2) One year after the date you sign the MPN or the date we receive the MPN if no disbursements are made under the MPN; or
(3) Ten years after the date you sign the MPN or the date we receive the MPN.

IMPORTANT NOTICES


GRAMM-LEACH-BLILEY ACT NOTICE

In 1999, Congress enacted the Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act (Public Law 106-102). This Act requires that lenders provide certain information to their customers regarding the collection and use of nonpublic personal information.

We disclose nonpublic personal information to third parties only as necessary to process and service your loan and as permitted by the Privacy Act of 1974. See the Privacy Act Notice below. We do not sell or otherwise make available any information about you to any third parties for marketing purposes.

We protect the security and confidentiality of nonpublic personal information by implementing the following policies and practices. All physical access to the sites where nonpublic personal information is maintained is controlled and monitored by security personnel. Our computer systems offer a high degree of resistance to tampering and circumvention. These systems limit data access to our staff and contract staff on a "need-to-know" basis, and control individual users' ability to access and alter records within the systems. All users of these systems are given a unique user ID with personal identifiers. All interactions by individual users with the systems are recorded.

PRIVACY ACT NOTICE

The Privacy Act of 1974 (5 U.S.C. 552a) requires that the following notice be provided to you:

The authority for collecting the requested information from and about you is §451 et seq. of the Higher Education Act (HEA) of 1965, as amended (20 U.S.C. 1087a et seq.) and the authorities for collecting and using your Social Security Number (SSN) are §§428B(f) and 484(a)(4) of the HEA (20 U.S.C. 1078-2(f) and 1091(a)(4)) and 31 U.S.C. 7701(b). Participating in the William D. Ford Federal Direct Loan (Direct Loan) Program and giving us your SSN are voluntary, but you must provide the requested information, including your SSN, to participate.

The principal purposes for collecting the information on this form, including your SSN, are to verify your identity, to determine your eligibility to receive a loan or a benefit on a loan (such as a deferment, forbearance, discharge, or forgiveness) under the Direct Loan Program, to permit the servicing of your loan(s), and, if it becomes necessary, to locate you and to collect and report on your loan(s) if your loan(s) become delinquent or in default. We also use your SSN as an account identifier and to permit you to access your account information electronically.

The information in your file may be disclosed, on a case by case basis or under a computer matching program, to third parties as authorized under routine uses in the appropriate systems of records notices. The routine uses of this information include, but are not limited to, its disclosure to federal, state, or local agencies, to private parties such as relatives, present and former employers, business and personal associates, to consumer reporting agencies, to financial and educational institutions, and to guaranty agencies in order to verify your identity, to determine your eligibility to receive a loan or a benefit on a loan, to permit the servicing or collection of your loan(s), to enforce the terms of the loan(s), to investigate possible fraud and to verify compliance with federal student financial aid program regulations, or to locate you if you become delinquent in your loan payments or if you default. To provide default rate calculations, disclosures may be made to guaranty agencies, to financial and educational institutions, or to state agencies. To provide financial aid history information, disclosures may be made to educational institutions. To assist program administrators with tracking refunds and cancellations, disclosures may be made to guaranty agencies, to financial and educational institutions, or to federal or state agencies. To provide a standardized method for educational institutions to efficiently submit student enrollment status, disclosures may be made to guaranty agencies or to financial and educational institutions. To counsel you in repayment efforts, disclosures may be made to guaranty agencies, to financial and educational institutions, or to federal, state, or local agencies.

In the event of litigation, we may send records to the Department of Justice, a court, adjudicative body, counsel, party, or witness if the disclosure is relevant and necessary to the litigation. If this information, either alone or with other information, indicates a potential violation of law, we may send it to the appropriate authority for action. We may send information to members of Congress if you ask them to help you with federal student aid questions. In circumstances involving employment complaints, grievances, or disciplinary actions, we may disclose relevant records to adjudicate or investigate the issues. If provided for by a collective bargaining agreement, we may disclose records to a labor organization recognized under 5 U.S.C. Chapter 71. Disclosures may be made to our contractors for the purpose of performing any programmatic function that requires disclosure of records. Before making any such disclosure, we will require the contractor to maintain Privacy Act safeguards. Disclosures may also be made to qualified researchers under Privacy Act safeguards.

FINANCIAL PRIVACY ACT NOTICE

Under the Right to Financial Privacy Act of 1978 (12 U.S.C. 3401-3421), ED will have access to financial records in your student loan file maintained in compliance with the administration of the Direct Loan Program.

PAPERWORK REDUCTION NOTICE

According to the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, no persons are required to respond to a collection of information unless such collection displays a valid OMB control number. The valid OMB control number for this information collection is 1845-0068. Public reporting burden for this collection of information is estimated to average 30 minutes (0.5 hours) per response, including time for reviewing instructions, searching existing data sources, gathering and maintaining the data needed, and completing and reviewing the collection of information. The obligation to respond to this collection is required to obtain a benefit in accordance with 34 CFR 685.201. If you have comments or concerns regarding the status of your individual submission of this form, write to:


U.S. Department of Education
Common Origination and Disbursement School Relations Center
Attn: Student Loan Support
P.O. Box 9002
Niagara Falls, NY 14302


William D. Ford Federal Direct Loan Program
Direct PLUS Loan Borrower's Rights and Responsibilities Statement


IMPORTANT NOTICE

This Borrower's Rights and Responsibilities Statement provides additional information about the terms and conditions of the loans you receive under the accompanying Master Promissory Note (MPN) for Direct PLUS Loans. Please keep this Borrower's Rights and Responsibilities Statement for your records. You may request another copy of this Borrower's Rights and Responsibilities Statement at any time by contacting your servicer.

Throughout this Borrower's Rights and Responsibilities Statement, the words "we," "us," and "our" refer to the U.S. Department of Education. The word "loan" refers to one or more loans made under the accompanying MPN.

NOTE TO ENDORSER

An endorser is someone who agrees to repay a Direct PLUS Loan if the borrower does not repay the loan. If you are the endorser of a Direct PLUS Loan, you are not entitled to all of the same benefits as a Direct PLUS Loan borrower, and not all of the terms and conditions of a Direct PLUS Loan apply to you. However, you should read the entire Borrower's Rights and Responsibilities Statement. We have highlighted important information that applies to you as an endorser.

1. THE WILLIAM D. FORD FEDERAL DIRECT LOAN PROGRAM

The William D. Ford Federal Direct Loan (Direct Loan) Program includes the following types of loans, known collectively as "Direct Loans":

  • Federal Direct Stafford/Ford Loans (Direct Subsidized Loans)
  • Federal Direct Unsubsidized Stafford/Ford Loans (Direct Unsubsidized Loans)
  • Federal Direct PLUS Loans (Direct PLUS Loans)
  • Federal Direct Consolidation Loans (Direct Consolidation Loans)

The Direct Loan Program is authorized by Title IV, Part D, of the Higher Education Act of 1965, as amended (HEA), 20 U.S.C. 1070 et seq.

Direct Loans are made by the U.S. Department of Education. We contract with servicers to service, answer questions about, and process payments on Direct Loans. Your servicer will provide you with its address and telephone number after the school notifies us that the first disbursement of your loan has been made. It is important to keep in contact with your servicer.

2. LAWS THAT APPLY TO THIS MPN

The terms and conditions of loans made under this MPN are determined by the HEA and other applicable federal laws and regulations. These laws and regulations are referred to as "the Act" throughout this Borrower's Rights and Responsibilities Statement. Under applicable state law, except as preempted by federal law, you may have certain borrower rights, remedies, and defenses in addition to those stated in the MPN and this Borrower's Rights and Responsibilities Statement.

NOTE: Any amendment to the Act that affects the terms of this MPN will be applied to your loans in accordance with the effective date of the amendment.

3. DIRECT PLUS LOANS

Direct PLUS Loans are loans made to graduate or professional students or to parents of dependent undergraduate students to help pay for the cost of education beyond high school. ("dependent" is defined in the Act and is different from the definition used by the Internal Revenue Service.) To be eligible for a Direct PLUS Loan:

  • You must be a graduate or professional student or the biological or adoptive parent of the dependent undergraduate student for whom you are borrowing. If you are the spouse of the dependent undergraduate student's parent (that is, if you are the student's stepparent), you may borrow a Direct PLUS Loan if you are considered to be a parent in accordance with the instructions on the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) for purposes of reporting your income and assets on the FAFSA.
  • You, and if you are a parent borrower, your child, must be a U.S. citizen or national, a permanent resident of the United States, or an otherwise eligible non-citizen.
  • You, and if you are a parent borrower, your child, must not be in default on a federal education loan or owe an overpayment on a federal education grant, and must not have been convicted of, or have pled nolo contendere (no contest) or guilty to, a crime involving fraud in obtaining funds under the Act.
  • You must not have an adverse credit history (unless you meet certain other requirements - see below).
  • You, or if you are a parent borrower, your child, must be enrolled at least half-time at a school that participates in the Direct Loan Program.

We will check your credit history each time you request a Direct PLUS Loan. If you have an adverse credit history, you may not borrow a Direct PLUS Loan unless you:

(1) Obtain an endorser who does not have an adverse credit history, or document to our satisfaction that there are extenuating circumstances related to the adverse credit history, and

(2) Complete Direct PLUS Loan credit counseling that we provide.

An endorser is someone who agrees to repay the Direct PLUS Loan if you do not do so. If you are a parent borrower, the endorser of a Direct PLUS Loan may not be the student for whom you are borrowing the loan.

If you are a graduate or professional student, you must complete a Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) and your school must determine your eligibility for the maximum annual Direct Unsubsidized Loan amount before you apply for a Direct PLUS Loan.

If you have questions about your eligibility for a Direct PLUS Loan, contact the financial aid office at the school you attend or are planning to attend or, if you are a parent borrower, the school the student attends or is planning to attend.

4. ABOUT THE MPN

You may receive more than one loan under this MPN over a period of up to 10 years to pay for your educational costs (if you are a graduate or professional student borrower) or for the educational costs of the student identified in in the Dependent Undergraduate Student Information section of the MPN (if you are a parent borrower), as long as the school is authorized to use the multi-year feature of the MPN and chooses to do so.

If the school is not authorized to use the multi-year feature of the MPN or chooses not to do so, or if you do not want to receive more than one loan under this MPN, you must sign a new MPN for each loan that you receive. If you do not want to receive more than one loan under this MPN, you must notify the school or your servicer in writing.

If you are a parent requesting more than one Direct PLUS Loan to pay for the educational costs of more than one dependent undergraduate student, you must sign a separate MPN for each student. You must also sign separate MPNs if you are a parent borrowing on behalf of a dependent undergraduate student and you also wish to obtain a Direct PLUS Loan to pay for your own attendance in a graduate or professional degree program.

If we determine that you have an adverse credit history and you obtain an endorser (see Item 3, "Direct PLUS Loans"), you may receive only one loan under this MPN. If you later want to receive another Direct PLUS Loan, you must sign a new MPN. If you receive a loan under this MPN without an endorser, but are later determined to have an adverse credit history and obtain an endorser for a future Direct PLUS Loan, you will have to sign a new MPN for that loan.

5. DIRECT PLUS LOANS AND ELIGIBILITY FOR OTHER FINANCIAL AID

If you borrow a Direct PLUS Loan, this may affect your eligibility for other financial aid. Therefore, we suggest that you contact the school's financial aid office to determine your eligibility for grants, work-study funds, or other forms of federal, state and private student aid that do not have to be repaid before you apply for a Direct PLUS Loan.

6. USE OF YOUR LOAN MONEY

You may use the loan money you receive only to pay for your authorized educational expenses or, if you are a parent borrower, for the student's authorized educational expenses for attendance at the school that determined you were eligible to receive the loan. Authorized expenses include the following:

  • Tuition
  • Room
  • Board
  • Institutional fees
  • Books
  • Supplies
  • Equipment
  • Dependent care expenses
  • Transportation
  • Commuting expenses
  • Rental or purchase of a personal computer
  • Loan fees
  • Other documented, authorized costs

7. INFORMATION YOU MUST REPORT TO US AFTER YOU RECEIVE YOUR LOAN

You must notify your servicer and/or the financial aid office at the school about certain changes.

Until you (or if you are a parent borrower, the student) graduate or otherwise leave school, you must notify the school's financial aid office if:

  • You change your address or telephone number;
  • You change your name (for example, maiden name to married name);
  • You (or if you are a parent borrower, the student)--
    • Do not enroll at least half-time for the loan period certified by the school;
    • Do not enroll at the school that determined you were eligible to receive the loan;
    • Stop attending school or drop below half-time enrollment;
    • Transfer from one school to another school; or
    • Graduate.

You must also notify your servicer if any of the above events occur at any time after you receive your loan. In addition, you must notify your servicer if you:

  • Change your employer, or your employer's address or telephone number changes; or
  • Have any other change in status that would affect your loan (for example, if you receive a deferment while you are unemployed, but you find a job and therefore no longer meet the eligibility requirements for the deferment).

NOTE TO ENDORSER

You must notify the servicer if you change your address, telephone number, name, or employer, or if your employer's address or telephone number changes.

8. AMOUNT YOU MAY BORROW

For each academic year, you may borrow up to - but not more than - the amount of your estimated cost of attendance (if you are a graduate or professional student borrower) or the student's estimated cost of attendance (if you are a parent borrower), minus the amount of any other financial aid received for that academic year. The school determines the cost of attendance using federal guidelines. It is important not to borrow more than you can afford to repay, even if you are eligible to borrow more.

9. INTEREST RATE

The interest rate on a Direct PLUS Loan is a fixed rate that is calculated in accordance with a formula specified in the Act. The interest rate is calculated each year. When the rate is calculated, it applies to all Direct PLUS Loans for which the first disbursement is made during the period beginning on July 1 of one year and ending on June 30 of the following year. Different fixed interest rates may apply to separate loans made under this MPN depending on when the loan is first disbursed. The maximum interest rate for Direct PLUS Loans is 10.5%. We will notify you of the interest rate for each loan you receive in a disclosure statement that we send to you.

Servicemembers Civil Relief Act

If you are in military service, you may qualify for a lower interest rate on your loans.

Under the Servicemembers Civil Relief Act, the interest rate on loans you received before you began your military service may be limited to 6% during your military service. In most cases, your servicer will determine if you are eligible for this benefit based on information from the U.S. Department of Defense, and, if any of your qualifying loans have an interest rate greater than 6%, will automatically reduce that rate to 6% during your military service. If you think you qualify for the 6% interest rate but have not received it, contact your servicer. Your servicer can also provide more information about this benefit.

If you have an adverse credit history and receive a Direct PLUS Loan by obtaining an endorser, you will also qualify for the 6% interest rate limit on that Direct PLUS Loan if the endorser qualifies for the limit based on the endorser's military service (see the Note to Endorser below).

NOTE TO ENDORSER

You may be eligible for the reduced interest rate described above based on the borrower's military service or your own military service if you are the endorser for a Direct PLUS Loan for which you signed an Endorser Addendum prior to the earlier of the beginning date of the borrower's military service or the beginning date of your military service.

10. PAYMENT OF INTEREST

Except as provided below for borrowers who serve in the military, and (for Direct PLUS Loans made to graduate or professional degree students) during certain periods of repayment under the REPAYE Plan, you are responsible for paying the interest that accrues on each Direct PLUS Loan you receive from the date the loan is first disbursed until it is repaid in full, including during periods of deferment or forbearance.

No accrual of interest benefit for active duty service members

Under the no accrual of interest benefit for active duty service members, you are not required to pay the interest that accrues on any type of Direct Loan Program loan first disbursed on or after October 1, 2008 during periods of qualifying active duty military service (for up to 60 months).

Interest capitalization

If you do not pay the interest as it accrues on a Direct PLUS Loan, as described above, we will add the accrued interest to the unpaid principal balance of your loan. This is called "capitalization." Capitalization increases the unpaid principal balance of your loan, and interest then accrues on the increased principal balance. We capitalize unpaid interest when you resume repayment after periods of deferment or forbearance. We may also capitalize unpaid interest that has accrued since the first disbursement of your loan when you enter repayment for the first time.

The chart that follows shows the difference in the total amount you would repay on a $15,000 Direct PLUS Loan if you pay the interest as it is charged during a 12-month deferment or forbearance period, compared to the amount you would repay if you do not pay the interest and it is capitalized.

If you pay the interest as it accrues...

If you do not pay the interest and it is capitalized...

Loan Amount

$15,000

$15,000

Interest for 12 Months

$1,575
(paid as accrued)

$1,575
(unpaid and capitalized)

Principal to be Repaid

$15,000

$16,575

Monthly Payment

$202

$224

Number of Payments

120

120

Total Repaid

$25,863

$26,839

The example in the chart above shows payments made under the Standard Repayment Plan at an interest rate of 10.5%, the maximum interest rate for a Direct PLUS Loan. In this example, you would pay $22 less per month and $975 less altogether if you pay the interest as it is charged during a 12-month deferment or forbearance period.

Federal income tax deduction

You may be able to claim a federal income tax deduction for interest payments you make on Direct Loans. For further information, refer to IRS Publication 970, which is available at http://www.irs.ustreas.gov.

11. LOAN FEE

For each Direct PLUS Loan you receive under this MPN, we charge a loan fee that is a percentage of the principal amount of each loan. This fee will be subtracted proportionally from each disbursement of your loan and will be shown on a disclosure statement that we send to you.

12. INTEREST RATE REDUCTION FOR AUTOMATIC WITHDRAWAL OF PAYMENTS

Under the automatic withdrawal option, your bank automatically deducts your monthly loan payment from your checking or savings account and sends it to us. Automatic withdrawal helps to ensure that your payments are made on time. In addition, you receive a 0.25% interest rate reduction while you repay under the automatic withdrawal option. Your servicer will provide you with information about the automatic withdrawal option. You can also get the information on your servicer's web site, or by calling your servicer. Your servicer's web site address and toll-free telephone number are provided on all correspondence that your servicer sends you.

13. DISBURSEMENT (HOW YOUR LOAN MONEY WILL BE PAID OUT)

Generally, the school will disburse (pay out) your loan money in more than one installment, usually at the beginning of each academic term (for example, at the beginning of each semester or quarter). If the school does not use academic terms or does not have academic terms that meet certain requirements, it will generally disburse your loan in at least two installments, one at the beginning of the period of study for which you are receiving the loan, and one at the midpoint of that period of study. The school determines the schedule for disbursing your loan money in accordance with the Act.

The school may disburse some or all of your loan money by crediting it to your account at the school (if you are a graduate or professional student borrower) or to the student's account at the school (if you are a parent borrower), or may give it to you directly by check or other means. Your servicer will notify you in writing each time the school disburses part of your loan money.

If you are a graduate or professional student and have not previously received a Direct PLUS Loan or a Federal PLUS Loan under the Federal Family Education Loan (FFEL) Program, you must receive entrance counseling before your school can make the first disbursement of your loan. Your school will tell you if entrance counseling is required, and will provide instructions for completing entrance counseling.

If the school credits your loan money to your or the student’s account and the amount credited is more than the amount of the tuition and fees, room and board, and other authorized charges, the excess amount is called a credit balance. Unless you authorize the school to hold the credit balance for you, the school must pay you the credit balance within the following timeframes:

  • If the credit balance occurs after the first day of class of a payment period (the school can tell you this date), the school must pay you the credit balance no later than 14 days after the date the balance occurs.
  • If the credit balance occurs on or before the first day of class of a payment period, the school must pay you the credit balance no later than 14 days after the first day of class of the payment period.

If you are a parent borrower, you may authorize the school to pay the credit balance to the student.

14. CANCELING YOUR LOAN

Before your loan money is disbursed, you may cancel all or part of your loan at any time by notifying the school. After your loan money is disbursed, there are two ways to cancel all or part of your loan:

  • You may notify the school (within certain timeframes). If the school obtains your written confirmation of the types and amounts of Title IV loans that you want to receive for an award year before crediting loan money to your or the student's account at the school, you may tell the school that you want to cancel all or part of that loan within 14 days after the date the school notifies you of your right to cancel all or part of the loan, or by the first day of the school's payment period, whichever is later (the school can tell you the first day of the payment period).

    If the school does not obtain your written confirmation of the types and amounts of loans you want to receive before crediting the loan money to your or the student's account, you may cancel all or part of that loan by informing the school within 30 days of the date the school notifies you of your right to cancel all or part of the loan.

    If you ask the school to cancel all or part of your loan within the timeframes described above, the school will return the cancelled loan amount to us. If you ask the school to cancel all or part of your loan outside the timeframes described above, the school may process your cancellation request, but it is not required to do so.

  • You may return all or part of your loan to us. Within 120 days of the date the school disbursed your loan money (by crediting the loan money to your or the student's account at the school, by paying it directly to you, or both), you may cancel all or part of your loan by returning all or part of the loan money to us. Contact your servicer for guidance on how and where to return your loan money.

You do not have to pay interest or the loan fee on the part of your loan that is cancelled or returned within the timeframes described above. We will adjust your loan amount to eliminate any interest and loan fee that applies to the amount of the loan that is cancelled or returned.

15. REPAYING YOUR LOAN

The repayment period for each Direct PLUS Loan made under this MPN begins on the date of the final disbursement for that loan. This means that the repayment period for each loan you receive under this MPN will begin on a different date. Unless you receive a deferment or forbearance (see Item 21), your first payment on each loan will be due within 60 days of the date of the final disbursement of that loan. Your servicer will notify you of the date your first payment is due.

You must make payments on your loan even if you do not receive a bill or repayment notice.

You must repay all of your Direct Loans under the same repayment plan, unless you want to repay your loans under the REPAYE Plan, the PAYE Plan, the IBR Plan, or the ICR Plan (see below) and you have other Direct Loans that do not qualify for repayment under those plans. In that case, you may select the REPAYE, PAYE, IBR, or ICR plan for the loans that are eligible for repayment under those plans, and may select a different repayment plan for the loans that may not be repaid under the REPAYE, PAYE, IBR, or ICR plan. Direct PLUS Loans made to a parent borrower may not be repaid under the REPAYE, PAYE, IBR and ICR plans.

Before your Direct PLUS Loan enters repayment, we will ask you to choose one of the repayment plans listed below. If you do not choose a repayment plan, we will place you on the Standard Repayment Plan.

Repayment plans for all Direct PLUS Loan borrowers

The following repayment plans are available to all Direct PLUS Loan borrowers:

Standard Repayment Plan

Under the Standard Repayment Plan, you will make fixed monthly payments and repay your loan in full within 10 years (not including periods of deferment or forbearance) from the date the loan entered repayment. Your payments must be at least $50 a month ($600 a year) and will be more, if necessary, to repay the loan within the required time period.

Graduated Repayment Plan

Under the Graduated Repayment Plan, you will usually make lower payments at first, and your payments will gradually increase over time. You will repay your loan in full within 10 years (not including periods of deferment or forbearance) from the date the loan entered repayment. Your scheduled monthly payment must at least be equal to the amount of interest that accrues each month. No single scheduled payment will be more than three times greater than any other payment.

Extended Repayment Plan

You are eligible for the Extended Repayment Plan only if (1) you have an outstanding balance on Direct Loans that exceeds $30,000, and (2) you had no outstanding balance on a Direct Loan as of October 7, 1998 or on the date you obtained a Direct Loan on or after October 7, 1998.

Under this plan, you will repay your loan in full over a period not to exceed 25 years (not including periods of deferment or forbearance) from the date the loan entered repayment. You may choose to make fixed monthly payments or graduated monthly payments that start out lower and gradually increase over time. If you make fixed monthly payments, your payments must be at least $50 a month ($600 a year) and will be more, if necessary, to repay the loan within the required time period. If you make graduated payments, your scheduled monthly payment must at least be equal to the amount of interest that accrues each month. No single scheduled payment under the graduated option will be more than three times greater than any other payment.

Additional repayment plans only for graduate and professional student Direct PLUS Loan borrowers

Note: Parent Direct PLUS Loan borrowers may not repay their Direct PLUS Loans under these plans. However, if a parent Direct PLUS Loan borrower consolidates a Direct PLUS Loan into a Direct Consolidation Loan, the Direct Consolidation Loan may then be repaid under the ICR Plan described below. See Item 23 for information on loan consolidation.

If you are a graduate or professional student Direct PLUS Loan borrower, the following additional repayment plans are available:

Revised Pay As You Earn Repayment Plan (REPAYE Plan)

Under the REPAYE Plan, your monthly payment amount is generally 10% of your discretionary income. Discretionary income for this plan is the difference between your adjusted gross income and 150% of the poverty guideline amount for your state of residence and family size, divided by 12.

If you are married, the income used to determine your REPAYE Plan payment amount will generally be the combined income of you and your spouse, regardless of whether you file a joint or separate federal income tax return.

While you are repaying under the REPAYE Plan, you must provide documentation of your income (and, if you are married, your spouse's income) and certify your family size each year so that we may recalculate your payment amount.

Under the REPAYE Plan, if all of the loans you are repaying under the plan were obtained for undergraduate study, any remaining loan amount will be forgiven after you have made the equivalent of 20 years of qualifying monthly payments over a period of at least 20 years. If any of the loans you are repaying under the REPAYE Plan were obtained for graduate or professional study, any remaining loan amount will be forgiven after you have made the equivalent of 25 years of qualifying monthly payments over a period of at least 25 years. You may have to pay federal income tax on the loan amount that is forgiven.

Pay As You Earn Repayment Plan (PAYE Plan)

Under the PAYE Plan, your monthly payment amount is generally 10% of your discretionary income. Discretionary income for this plan is the difference between your adjusted gross income and 150% of the poverty guideline amount for your state of residence and family size, divided by 12.

If you are married and file a joint federal income tax return, the income used to determine your PAYE Plan payment amount will be the combined adjusted gross income of you and your spouse.

If you are married and file a separate federal income tax return from your spouse, only your individual adjusted gross income will be used to determine your PAYE Plan payment amount.

The PAYE Plan is available only to new borrowers. You are a new borrower for the PAYE Plan if:

(1) You had no outstanding balance on a Direct Loan or a FFEL Program loan as of October 1, 2007, or you have no outstanding balance on a Direct Loan or a FFEL Program loan when you obtain a new loan on or after October 1, 2007, and

(2) You receive a disbursement of a Direct Subsidized Loan, Direct Unsubsidized Loan, or student Direct PLUS Loan (a Direct PLUS Loan made to a graduate or professional student) on or after October 1, 2011, or you receive a Direct Consolidation Loan based on an application received on or after October 1, 2011. However, you are not considered to be a new borrower for the PAYE Plan if the Direct Consolidation Loan you receive repays loans that would make you ineligible under part (1) of this definition.

In addition to being a new borrower, to initially qualify for the PAYE Plan, the monthly amount you would be required to pay under this plan, based on your income and family size, must be less than the amount you would have to pay under the Standard Repayment Plan.

If you are married and file a joint federal income tax return, the loan amount we use to determine whether you qualify for the PAYE Plan will include your eligible loans and your spouse's eligible loans.

If you are married and file a separate federal income tax return from your spouse, the loan amount we use to determine whether you qualify for the PAYE Plan will include only your eligible loans.

While you are repaying under the PAYE Plan, you must provide documentation of your income and certify your family size each year so that we may recalculate your payment amount. If your income increases to the point that the amount you would have to pay under the PAYE Plan based on your income is more than what you would have to pay under the Standard Repayment Plan, you will remain on the PAYE Plan, but your monthly payment will no longer be based on your income. Instead, your monthly payment will be what you would be required to pay under the Standard Repayment Plan.

Under the PAYE Plan, if your loan is not repaid in full after you have made the equivalent of 20 years of qualifying monthly payments over a period of at least 20 years, any remaining loan amount will be forgiven. You may have to pay federal income tax on the loan amount that is forgiven.

Income-Based Repayment Plan (IBR Plan)

Under the IBR Plan, your monthly payment amount is generally 15% (10% if you are a new borrower; see Note below) of your discretionary income. Discretionary income for this plan is the difference between your adjusted gross income and 150% of the poverty guideline amount for your state of residence and family size, divided by 12.

If you are married and file a joint federal income tax return, the income used to determine your IBR Plan payment amount will be the combined adjusted gross income of you and your spouse.

If you are married and file a separate federal income tax return from your spouse, only your individual adjusted gross income will be used to determine your IBR Plan payment amount.

To initially qualify for the IBR Plan, the monthly amount you would be required to pay under this plan, based on your income and family size, must be less than the amount you would have to pay under the Standard Repayment Plan.

If you are married and file a joint federal income tax return, the loan amount we use to determine whether you qualify for the IBR Plan will include your eligible loans and your spouse's eligible loans.

If you are married and file a separate federal income tax return from your spouse, the loan amount we use to determine whether you qualify for the IBR Plan will include only your eligible loans.

While you are repaying under the IBR Plan, you must provide documentation of your income and certify your family size each year so that we may recalculate your payment amount. If your income increases to the point that the amount you would have to pay under the IBR Plan based on your income is more than what you would have to pay under the Standard Repayment Plan, you will remain on the IBR Plan, but your monthly payment will no longer be based on your income. Instead, your monthly payment will be what you would be required to pay under the Standard Repayment Plan.

Under the IBR Plan, if your loan is not repaid in full after you have made the equivalent of 25 years (20 years if you are a new borrower) of qualifying monthly payments over a period of at least 25 years (20 years if you are a new borrower), any remaining loan amount will be forgiven. You may have to pay federal income tax on the loan amount that is forgiven.

NOTE: You are a new borrower for the IBR Plan if you have no outstanding balance on a Direct Loan or a FFEL Program loan on July 1, 2014, or if you have no outstanding balance on a Direct Loan or a FFEL Program loan on the date you obtain a Direct Loan after July 1, 2014. Your servicer will determine whether you are a new borrower based on the information about your loans in the U.S. Department of Education's National Student Loan Data System.

Income Contingent Repayment Plan (ICR Plan)

Under the ICR Plan, your monthly payment amount will be either 20% of your discretionary income or a percentage of what you would repay under a Standard Repayment Plan with a 12-year repayment period, whichever is less. Discretionary income for this plan is the difference between your adjusted gross income and the poverty guideline amount for your state of residence and family size, divided by 12.

If you are married and file a joint federal income tax return, the income used to determine your ICR Plan payment amount will be the combined adjusted gross income of you and your spouse.

If you are married and file a separate federal income tax return from your spouse, only your individual adjusted gross income will be used to determine your ICR Plan payment amount.

Until we obtain the information needed to calculate your monthly payment amount, your payment will equal the amount of interest that accrues monthly on your loan unless you request a forbearance.

While you are repaying under the ICR Plan, you must provide documentation of your income and certify your family size each year so that we may recalculate your payment amount.

Under the ICR Plan, if your loan is not repaid in full after you have made the equivalent of 25 years of qualifying monthly payments over a period of at least 25 years, any remaining loan amount will be forgiven. You may have to pay federal income tax on the loan amount that is forgiven.

Additional repayment plan information

If you are a graduate or professional student, these repayment plans will be explained in more detail during your exit counseling session.

Under each plan, the number or amount of payments may need to be adjusted to reflect capitalized interest and/or new loans made to you.

If you can show to our satisfaction that the terms and conditions of the repayment plans described above are not adequate to meet your exceptional circumstances, we may provide you with an alternative repayment plan.

You can use the Repayment Estimator at StudentAid.gov/Repayment-Estimator to estimate your monthly and total payment amounts under the different repayment plans and to evaluate your eligibility for the PAYE and IBR plans. The calculators are for informational purposes only. Your servicer will make the official determination of your payment amount and, for the PAYE and IBR plans, your eligibility for the plan.

You may change repayment plans at any time after you have begun repaying your loan. However, you may not change to a different repayment plan that has a maximum repayment period of less than the number of years your loan has already been in repayment, except that you may change to the REPAYE Plan, the PAYE plan, the IBR Plan, or the ICR Plan at any time.

NOTE TO ENDORSER

If you are making payments on the borrower's Direct PLUS Loan, you may request a change of repayment plans by contacting your servicer.

If you are making payments under any repayment plan other than the REPAYE Plan, the PAYE Plan, and the IBR Plan, we apply your payments in the following order:

1. Late charges and collection costs,
2. Outstanding interest, and
3. Outstanding principal.

If you are making payments under the REPAYE Plan, the PAYE Plan, or the IBR Plan, we apply your payments in the following order:

1. Outstanding interest,
2. Late charges and collection costs, and
3. Outstanding principal.

There is no penalty if you make loan payments before they are due, or pay more than the amount due each month (prepayments). We apply any prepayments in accordance with the Act. Your servicer can provide more information about how prepayments are applied.

When you have repaid a loan in full, your servicer will send you a notice telling you that you have paid off your loan. You should keep this notice in a safe place.

16. TRANSFER OF LOAN

We may transfer the servicing of one or all of your loans to another servicer. If there is a change in the address to which you must send payments or direct communications, we will notify you of the new servicer's name, address and telephone number, the effective date of the transfer, and the date when you must begin sending payments or directing communications to that servicer. Transfer of a loan to a different servicer does not affect your rights and responsibilities under that loan.

17. LATE CHARGES AND COLLECTION COSTS

If you do not make any part of a payment within 30 days after it is due, we may require you to pay a late charge. This charge will not be more than six cents for each dollar of each late payment. If you do not make payments as scheduled, we may also require you to pay other charges and fees involved in collecting your loan.

18. DEMAND FOR IMMEDIATE REPAYMENT

The entire unpaid amount of your loan becomes due and payable (this is called "acceleration") if you:

  • Receive loan money, but you or the student for whom you obtained the loan do not begin attendance in any classes at the school that determined you were eligible to receive the loan;
  • Use your loan money to pay for anything other than expenses related to your or the student's education at the school that determined you were eligible to receive the loan;
  • Make a false statement that causes you to receive a loan that you are not eligible to receive; or
  • Default on your loan.

19. DEFAULTING ON YOUR LOAN

Default (failing to repay your loan) is defined in detail in the MPN Terms and Conditions section of your MPN. If you default:

  • We will require you to immediately repay the entire unpaid amount of your loan.
  • We may sue you, take all or part of your federal and state tax refunds and other federal or state payments, and/or garnish your wages so that your employer is required to send us part of your salary to pay off your loan.
  • We will require you to pay reasonable collection fees and costs, plus court costs and attorney fees.
  • You will lose eligibility for other federal student aid and assistance under most federal benefit programs.
  • You will lose eligibility for loan deferments.
  • We will also report your default to nationwide consumer reporting agencies (see Item 20). This will harm your credit history and may make it difficult for you to obtain credit cards, home or car loans, or other forms of consumer credit.

If you default on your loan, you will not be charged collection costs if you respond within 60 days to the initial notice of default that we send to you, and you enter into a repayment agreement with us, including a loan rehabilitation agreement, and fulfill that agreement.

NOTE TO ENDORSER

If the borrower defaults on the loan, and you do not make payments on the loan, you may also be subject to the actions described above.

20. CONSUMER REPORTING AGENCY NOTIFICATION

We will report information about your loan to nationwide consumer reporting agencies (commonly known as "credit bureaus") on a regular basis. This information will include the disbursement dates, amount, and repayment status of your loan (for example, whether you are current or delinquent in making payments). Your loan will be identified as an education loan.

If you default on a loan, we will report this to nationwide consumer reporting agencies. We will notify you at least 30 days in advance that we plan to report default information to a consumer reporting agency unless you resume making payments on the loan within 30 days of the date of the notice. You will be given a chance to ask for a review of the debt before we report it.

If a consumer reporting agency contacts us regarding objections you have raised about the accuracy or completeness of any information we have reported, we are required to provide the agency with a prompt response.

NOTE TO ENDORSER

If the borrower of a Direct PLUS Loan becomes delinquent in making payments or defaults on the loan, we may also report your name to consumer reporting agencies in connection with the delinquent or defaulted loan.

21. DEFERMENT AND FORBEARANCE (POSTPONING PAYMENTS)

General

If you meet certain requirements, you may receive a deferment that allows you to temporarily stop making payments on your loan. If you cannot make your scheduled loan payments, but do not qualify for a deferment, we may give you a forbearance. A forbearance allows you to temporarily stop making payments on your loan, temporarily make smaller payments, or extend the time for making payments.

Deferment

You may receive a deferment:

  • While you are enrolled at least half-time at an eligible school;
  • During the 6-month period after you cease to be enrolled at least half-time;
  • While the student for whom you obtained a Direct PLUS Loan is enrolled at least half-time at an eligible school;
  • During the 6-month period after the student for whom you obtained a Direct PLUS Loan ceases to be enrolled at least half-time;
  • While you are in a full-time course of study in a graduate fellowship program;
  • While you are in an approved full-time rehabilitation program for individuals with disabilities;
  • While you are unemployed (for a maximum of three years; you must be diligently seeking, but unable to find, full-time employment);
  • While you are experiencing an economic hardship (including Peace Corps service), as defined in the Act (for a maximum of three years);
  • While you are serving on active duty during a war or other military operation or national emergency or performing qualifying National Guard duty during a war or other military operation or national emergency and, if you were serving on or after October 1, 2007, for an additional 180-day period following the demobilization date for your qualifying service; or
  • If you are a member of the National Guard or other reserve component of the U.S. Armed Forces (current or retired) and you are called or ordered to active duty while you are enrolled at least half-time at an eligible school or within 6 months of having been enrolled at least half-time, during the 13 months following the conclusion of your active duty service, or until you return to enrolled student status on at least a half-time basis, whichever is earlier.

You may be eligible to receive additional deferments if, at the time you received your first Direct Loan, you had an outstanding balance on a loan made under the FFEL Program before July 1, 1993. If you meet this requirement, contact your servicer for information about additional deferments that may be available.

You may receive a deferment while you are enrolled in school on at least a half-time basis (and, if you are a graduate or professional student, during the 6-month period after you cease to be enrolled at least half-time) if:

  • You submit a deferment request to your servicer along with documentation of your eligibility for the deferment, or
  • Your servicer receives information from the school you are attending that indicates you are enrolled at least half-time.

If your servicer processes a deferment based on information received from your school, you will be notified of the deferment and will have the option of canceling the deferment and continuing to make payments on your loan.

For all other deferments, you (or, for a deferment based on active duty military service or qualifying National Guard duty during a war or other military operation or national emergency, a representative acting on your behalf) must submit a deferment request to your servicer, along with documentation of your eligibility for the deferment. In certain circumstances, you may not be required to provide documentation of your eligibility if your servicer confirms that you have been granted the same deferment for the same period of time on a FFEL Program loan. Your servicer can provide you with a deferment request form that explains the eligibility and documentation requirements for the type of deferment you are requesting. You may also obtain deferment request forms and information on deferment eligibility requirements from your servicer's web site.

If you are in default on your loan, you are not eligible for a deferment.

You are responsible for paying the interest on a Direct PLUS Loan during a period of deferment.

NOTE TO ENDORSER

You are not eligible to receive a deferment.

Forbearance

We may give you a forbearance if you are temporarily unable to make your scheduled loan payments for reasons including, but not limited to, financial hardship and illness.

We will give you a forbearance if:

  • You are serving in a medical or dental internship or residency program, and you meet specific requirements;
  • The total amount you owe each month for all of the student loans you received under Title IV of the Act (Direct Loan Program loans, FFEL Program loans, and Federal Perkins Loans) is 20% or more of your total monthly gross income (for a maximum of three years);
  • You are serving in a national service position for which you receive a national service education award under the National and Community Service Trust Act of 1993. In some cases, the interest that accrues on a qualified loan during the service period will be paid by the Corporation for National and Community Service;
  • You qualify for partial repayment of your loans under a student loan repayment program administered by the Department of Defense; or
  • You are called to active duty in the U.S. Armed Forces.

To request a forbearance, contact your servicer. Your servicer can explain the eligibility and documentation requirements for the type of forbearance you are requesting. You may also obtain information on forbearance eligibility requirements from your servicer's web site.

Under certain circumstances, we may also give you a forbearance without requiring you to submit a request or documentation. These circumstances include, but are not limited to, the following:

  • Periods necessary for us to determine your eligibility for a loan discharge;
  • A period of up to 60 days in order for us to collect and process documentation related to your request for a deferment, forbearance, change in repayment plan, or consolidation loan (we do not capitalize the interest that is charged during this period);
  • Periods when you are involved in a military mobilization, or a local or national emergency; or
  • Periods necessary to align repayment of Direct PLUS Loans that do not qualify for a 6-month post-enrollment deferment with other Direct PLUS Loans that qualify for this deferment, or with Direct Subsidized Loans and Direct Unsubsidized Loans that have a grace period. Contact your servicer for more information.

You are responsible for paying the interest on a Direct PLUS Loan during a period of forbearance.

NOTE TO ENDORSER

You may request a forbearance.

22. DISCHARGE (HAVING YOUR LOAN FORGIVEN)

Death, bankruptcy, and total and permanent disability

We will discharge (forgive) your loan if:

  • You die, or the child on whose behalf you obtained a Direct PLUS Loan dies. Your servicer must receive acceptable documentation (as defined in the Act) of your death or the child's death.
  • Your loan is discharged in bankruptcy after you have proven to the bankruptcy court that repaying the loan would cause undue hardship. Direct Loans are not automatically discharged if you file for bankruptcy.
  • You become totally and permanently disabled (as defined in the Act) and meet certain other requirements.

School closure, false certification, identity theft, and unpaid refund

In certain cases, we may also discharge all or a portion of your loan if:

  • You (or the child on whose behalf you obtained a Direct PLUS Loan) could not complete a program of study because the school closed;
  • Your loan eligibility was falsely certified by the school;
  • A loan in your name was falsely certified as a result of a crime of identity theft; or
  • The school did not pay a refund of your loan money that it was required to pay under federal regulations.

Public Service Loan Forgiveness

A Public Service Loan Forgiveness (PSLF) program is also available. Under this program, we will forgive the remaining balance due on your eligible Direct Loan Program loans after you have made 120 payments on those loans (after October 1, 2007) under certain repayment plans while you are employed full-time in certain public service jobs. The required 120 payments do not have to be consecutive. Qualifying repayment plans include the REPAYE Plan, the PAYE Plan, the IBR Plan, the ICR Plan, and the Standard Repayment Plan with a 10-year repayment period.

Note: Although the Standard Repayment Plan with a 10-year repayment period is a qualifying repayment plan for PSLF, to receive any loan forgiveness under this program you must make the majority of the required 120 payments under the REPAYE Plan, the PAYE Plan, the IBR Plan, or the ICR Plan.

Additional loan discharge information

The Act may provide for certain loan forgiveness or repayment benefits on your loans in addition to the benefits described above.

For a discharge based on your death or the death of the child on whose behalf you obtained a Direct PLUS Loan, a family member must contact your loan servicer. To request loan discharge or forgiveness based on one of the other conditions described above (except for a discharge due to bankruptcy), you must complete an application. Your servicer can tell you how to apply.

In some cases, you may assert, under applicable law and regulations, a defense against repayment of your loan on the basis that the school did something wrong or failed to do something that it should have done. You can make such a defense against repayment only if the school’s act or omission directly relates to your loan or to the educational services that the loan was intended to pay for. If you believe that you have a defense against repayment of your loan, contact your servicer.

We do not guarantee the quality of the academic programs provided by schools that participate in federal student financial aid programs. You must repay your loan even if you or (if you are a parent borrower) the student do not complete the education paid for with the loan, are unable to obtain employment in the field of study for which the school provided training, or are dissatisfied with, or do not receive, the education paid for with the loan.

NOTE TO ENDORSER

If we discharge the full amount of the borrower's loan for any of the reasons described above, you are no longer obligated to make any payments on the loan. However, if the loan is reinstated after a discharge, and the borrower does not make the required payments, you will be obligated to make payments on the loan.

23. LOAN CONSOLIDATION

A Direct Consolidation Loan Program is available that allows you to consolidate one or more of your eligible federal education loans into a new loan with a single monthly payment, and may allow you to extend the period of time that you have to repay your loans. This may make it easier for you to repay your loans. However, you will pay more interest if you extend your repayment period through consolidation, since you will be making payments for a longer period of time. Contact your servicer for more information about loan consolidation.

NOTE TO ENDORSER

You are not eligible to apply for a Direct Consolidation Loan to repay a Direct PLUS Loan for which you are the endorser.

24. DEPARTMENT OF DEFENSE AND OTHER FEDERAL AGENCY LOAN REPAYMENT

Under certain circumstances, military personnel may have their federal education loans repaid by the Secretary of Defense. This benefit is offered as part of a recruitment program that does not apply to individuals based on their previous military service or to those who are not eligible for enlistment in the U.S. Armed Forces. For more information, contact your local military service recruitment office.

Other agencies of the federal government may also offer student loan repayment programs as an incentive to recruit and retain employees. Contact the agency's human resources department for more information.

END OF BORROWER'S RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES STATEMENT

INSTRUCTIONS
MASTER PROMISSORY NOTE FOR DIRECT PLUS LOANS


GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS AND INFORMATION


Type or print using blue or black ink. Do not use pencil. Enter all dates as month-day-year (mm-dd-yyyy). Use only numbers. Example: January 31, 2017 = 01/31/2017.

Throughout the Master Promissory Note (MPN) and the accompanying Borrower's Rights and Responsibilities Statement, the words "we," "us," "our," and "ED" refer to the U.S. Department of Education.

BORROWER INFORMATION


Note: Some of the items in this section may have been completed for you. If so, review these items carefully to make sure that the information is correct. Cross out any information that is incorrect and enter the correct information. Put your initials next to any information that you change.

Item 1: Check the appropriate box to indicate whether you are a Graduate or Professional Student or a Parent of a Dependent Undergraduate Student.

Item 2. Enter your first name, then your middle initial and last name. Enter your permanent address (number, street, apartment number, or rural route number and box number, then city, state, zip code). If your mailing address is different from your permanent address, you must list both addresses. A temporary school address is not acceptable.

Item 3. Enter your nine-digit Social Security Number.

Item 4. Enter your date of birth.

Item 5. Enter the two-letter abbreviation for the state that issued your current driver's license, followed by your driver's license number. If you do not have a driver's license, enter N/A.

Item 6. Enter your preferred email address for receiving communications. You are not required to provide this information. If you do, we may use your email address to communicate with you. If you do not have an email address or do not wish to provide one, enter N/A.

Item 7. Enter the area code and telephone number at which you can most easily be reached. (Do not list your work telephone number here.) If you do not have a telephone, enter N/A.

Item 8. Complete this item only if you are a parent borrower. Place a check in the box that corresponds to your citizenship status. If you check box (2), enter your Alien Registration Number.

(1)"U.S. Citizen" includes citizens of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, Guam, and the Northern Mariana Islands. "National" includes not only all U.S. citizens, but also citizens of American Samoa and Swain's Island.

(2)"Permanent Resident" means someone who can provide documentation of this status from the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS). "Other Eligible Non-Citizen" includes individuals who can provide documentation from the USCIS that they are in the United States for a purpose that is not temporary, with the intention of becoming a citizen or permanent resident. This category includes refugees, persons granted asylum, Cuban-Haitian entrants, temporary residents under the Immigration Reform and Control Act of 1986, and others.

NOTE: If your citizenship status is not one of the categories described above, you are not eligible to receive a Direct PLUS Loan.

Item 9. Enter your employer's name and address (number, street, city, state, zip code). If you are self-employed, enter the name and address of your business. If you are not employed, enter N/A.

Item 10. Enter your work area code and telephone number. If you are self-employed, enter the area code and telephone number of your business.

REFERENCE INFORMATION


Items 11 and 12. Enter the requested information for two adults with different U.S. addresses who do not live with you, and who have known you for at least three years and will know how to contact you in the future. If you are a parent borrower, do not list the student for whom you are borrowing as a reference. References who live outside the United States are not acceptable. Providing an email address for a reference is optional. If you provide an email address, we may use it to communicate with the reference. If a reference does not have a telephone number or email address, or does not wish to provide an email address, enter N/A.

SCHOOL INFORMATION


This section will be completed by the school that determines your eligibility to receive the loan.

DEPENDENT UNDERGRADUATE STUDENT INFORMATION


Complete this section only if you are a parent borrowing for a dependent undergraduate student.

Item 16. Enter the student's first name, then middle initial and last name.

Item 17. Enter the student's nine-digit Social Security Number.

Item 18. Enter the student's date of birth.

BORROWER REQUEST, CERTIFICATIONS, AUTHORIZATIONS, AND UNDERSTANDINGS


Top of Page 2. Enter your name and Social Security Number.

Items 19, 20, 21, and 22. Read these items carefully.

PROMISE TO PAY


Items 23, 24, 25, and 26. Read these items carefully.

Items 27 and 28. Sign your full legal name, in blue or black ink, and enter the date you signed this MPN. By signing this MPN, you (1) acknowledge that you have read, understand, and agree to the terms and conditions of the MPN, including the Borrower Request, Certifications, Authorizations, and Understandings and the accompanying Borrower's Rights and Responsibilities Statement; and (2) agree to repay in full all loans made under this MPN according to the terms and conditions of the MPN.